50+ Years Old Interview

For this assignment I interviewed my fifty-four year old aunt, who is a white female. She lives in Jacksonville Florida, is married, and has three fully grown children. I interviewed her on February seventeenth over the phone at ll:40 A.M.. My aunt was never really interested in films that much, but has watched a handful of oldies and classics.

The first question that I asked my aunt was “What were some of the first films you remember watching in theatre?”

Her response: “I never really enjoyed going to the theatre and watching films that much, but I have seen a few films that were and still are very popular. One of the first films that I can remember watching very vividly was “The Wizard of Oz”. Even though I never really enjoyed watching films that much, this film was an acception. This film is one of my favorites, mainly because of how magical it is to me. It takes me into another world filled with magical creatures and envelopes my being into a great story. I never watched this film in theatres, but I thought that it was worth mentioning since I can’t really remember any of the old old movies that I watched. Another film that I remember watching was “Pulp Fiction”. I remember going to the theatres and watching this film with my friends. Some of my friends had already watched it and they said that it was one of the best films that they had ever seen; they were also the ones who recommended me to watch this film, which is the only reason why I watched it in theatres. After I watched this film in theatres, I was so amazed by the acting in the movie that I bought the movie on DVD, and it has been one of my top ten favorite movies of all time ever since. I still have it to this day on the shelf next to the DVD player.”

The second question that I asked my aunt was “When HBO, Showtime, VCRs or DVDs were readily available, did that change how you went to see movies? Or which ones you went to see in a theatre?

Her response: “Yes, it made managing money for watching a movie in an expensive theatre much easier. I never owned a VCR myself, but my friend owned one. Every time that a movie came out that I wanted to see but was too expensive to go see in theatres, I would wait for my friend to buy it on VHS and then go over to her house and watch it. I have owned a DVD player before though, not when it first came out. I had to wait for the price to go down before I could buy one. Once I did though it made watching movies so much simpler.”

Image result for pictures of dvd players

The final question that I asked my aunt was “Did you ever go rent movies from a video store? If so, how did you decide what to choose to watch with all those choices?”

Her response: “I have rented movies from a movie store before, but I’ve only really started doing it recently. At first I would pick movies that looked interesting based on the case it came in, but then I started to learn that that was getting a little too expensive because I would leave with a huge stack of movies, so I had to figure out a way to narrow down my options. My new way of choosing movies to rent when going to a video store is by looking up trailers, summaries, and reviews on the movies that I think are interesting.”

Date: Sunday, February 17th, 2019

Name: Ethan Blake Powell

Leave a comment